The Annual Short Courses for Water and Wastewater Operators is the joint effort of Water and Waste Operators Association of MD, DE, and DC; the Chesapeake Section, American Water Works Association; and the Chesapeake Water Environment Association.  We are firmly committed to advancing the knowledge of operators - the front line of every water utility.  ​You can learn more about our organizations by clicking on their names and linking to their websites.

We offer our sincere thanks to each instructor who is giving of their time and effort without monetary compensation to convey this beneficial information to the respective students.  Also, thanks to their employers who have allowed the instructors time to participate in the Short Courses.  You will find the names of instructors and  employers with the classes they are teaching.  

About Us

The Annual Short Courses is coordinated by a dedicated team of volunteers, who work year-round on this important training event:  

Chairpersons:                        Rob Nally (CSAWWA), WSSC Water 
                                             John Luu (CWEA), WSSC Water

                                             Jim Timmons (WWOA), Baltimore City DPW (Retired)
Treasurer:                             Clark Howells (CWEA), WSSC Water
Secretary/Assist Treas:        Maia Tatinclaux (CWEA), RK&K
Intro to Water:                      Rob Nally (CSAWWA), WSSC Water
Water 3 & 4:                         Dinesh Bahadursingh (CSAWWA), WSSC Water

Advanced Water:                   Rob Swann (CSAWWA), Anne Arundel County DPW     
Water Distribution:               David Wilkins (CSAWWA), WSSC Water

                                             Wanda Ketner (CSAWWA), WSSC Water

Intro/Inter Wastewater:       Rob Kraus, (WWOA), Anne Arundel County DPW
Advanced Wastewater:        Mike Marinelli, (CWEA), WSSC Water

Industrial Wastewater:       Bill Farrell (CWEA), Prostart
Wastewater Collection:      Wayne Reed (CWEA), USACE - Washington Aqueduct
                                           Licette Villafane (WWOA), WSSC Water
Superintendent:                 Winfield McKell (WWOA), WSSC Water  
                                           Michael Lewis (CSAWWA), WSSC Water (Retired)
College Liaison:                  Jim Timmons (WWOA), Baltimore City DPW (Retired)
Admin. Coordinators:         
Noelle Anuszkiewicz (CWEA), Anne Arundel County DPW

                                          Angela Ballard-Landers (CSAWWA) WSSC Water (Retired)

                                          Billy Dove, (CSAWWA), Hazen and Sawyer
                                          Scott Harmon (CWEA/CSAWWA), Ruiral Community                                                            Assistance Partnership

                                          Jay Price (WWOA/CSAWWA), Hazen and Sawyer

                                          Conrad Shows (WWOA), DC Water (retired)
                                          Ivy Swann (WWOA), Anne Arundel County DPW    

                                          Tim Porcella (WWOA) Baltimore County Utilities

                                          Mark Proctor (CSAWWA) WSSC Water

                                          Doug Abbott (CSAWWA/CWEA/WWOA) Easton Utilities